Last Name, First Office Office Hours Email
Alagona,
Peter S.
Associate Professor
Area: Environmental History, History of Science
Fields of Study:
Bren Hall, 4316W, 1-3 PMalagona@history.ucsb.edu
Aronova,
Elena
Assistant Professor
Area: History of Science
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4215By appointmentearonova@history.ucsb.edu
Barbieri-Low,
Anthony
Professor
Area: Social, Economic, Legal, and Material Culture History of Ancient China
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4225On leave, 2016-2017barbieri-low@history.ucsb.edu
Bergstrom,
Randy
Associate Professor
Area: United States Social Policy
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4216on leave 2016-17bergstro@history.ucsb.edu
Bernstein,
Hilary
Associate Professor
Area: Early Modern France; Renaissance Europe
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4235W 1-3:30 p.m. and by apptbernstein@history.ucsb.edu
Blumenthal,
Debra
Associate Professor
Area: Medieval/Early Modern Spain, Premodern Mediterranean, Comparative Slavery, Gender History, History of Medicine
Fields of Study:
HSSB 3256W 1-2pmblumenthal@history.ucsb.edu
Brooks,
James F
Professor of History & Anthropology
Area: Borderlands History; Anthropology and History; Gender & Violence, the Professoriate in the 21st Century
Fields of Study:
HSSB 2082Mondays, 1-3pm; or by appointmentjbrooks@history.ucsb.edu
Castillo-Munoz,
Veronica
Assistant Professor
Area: Mexican History; The U.S.-Mexico Border; Transnational History; Chicano History; Gender, and Women's History
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4238Fall Quarter W 2-3pm, M 5-6pm and by appointmentcastillomunoz@history.ucsb.edu
Chavez-Garcia,
Miroslava
Professor
Area: Chicana/o History, Juvenile Justice, U.S. Women of Color, Im/Migration, Borderlands
Fields of Study:
HSSB 3257Fall 2016, By Appointment (email me)mchavezgarcia@history.ucsb.edu
Chikowero,
Mhoze
Associate Professor
Area: African History
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4214Wedn. 9:00-11:00amchikowero@history.ucsb.edu
Cobo,
Juan
Assistant Professor
Area: Colonial Latin America
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4224jcobo@history.ucsb.edu
Covo,
Manuel
Assistant Professor
Area: 18th century France, Atlantic World, Caribbean, Early America, Revolutions
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4221W: 2:00 - 4:00mcovo@history.ucsb.edu
Digeser,
Elizabeth DePalma
Professor
Area: Ancient Rome, Late Antiquity
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4257T 12-2edepalma@history.ucsb.edu
Edgar,
Adrienne
Associate Professor
Area: 20th Century Russia, Central Asia
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4212Wednesdays 1-2:30edgar@history.ucsb.edu
English,
Edward D.
Executive Director Medieval Studies Program and Adjunct Associate Professor
Area: Medieval History especially Italy
Fields of Study:
HSSB 5058english@history.ucsb.edu
Farmer,
Sharon
Professor, Department Chair
Area: Medieval: Women, Social, Religious
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4211-13 (chair)W, 1:30-3:00, or by appointmentfarmer@history.ucsb.edu
Furner,
Mary
Professor
Area: 19th and 20th Century U.S.
Fields of Study:
HSSB 3255Fall 2015: W 1:30-4:30furner@history.ucsb.edu
Guerrini,
Anita
Adjunct Professor
Area: Early Modern Europe, History of Science
anita.guerrini@oregonstate.edu
Hancock,
Mary
Professor
Area: Modern India, Public Memory, Gender, Space and Culture
Fields of Study:
HSSB 2071Tuesdays, 1-3 PM and by appt.hancock@anth.ucsb.edu
Jacobson,
Lisa
Associate Professor
Area: U.S. Social and Cultural History
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4232W, 1:00-3:00pm and by appointment jacobson@history.ucsb.edu
Kalman,
Laura
Professor
Area: Recent United States History
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4258ON LEAVE 2016-17. NO REGULAR OFFICE HOURSkalman@history.ucsb.edu
Keel,
Terence
Assistant Professor
Area: History of Science
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4218tkeel@blackstudies.ucsb.edu
Lansing,
Carol
Professor
Area: Medieval Europe
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4251Fall 2016: T 1-3 and appts.lansing@history.ucsb.edu
Laurent-Perrault,
Evelyne
Assistant Professor
Area: African Diaspora, Colonial Latin America and the Caribbean
Fields of Study:
afrolat@gmail.com
Lee,
John W.I.
Associate Professor
Area: Ancient Greece, Achaemenid Persia,
History of Warfare
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4210on leave 2016-2017jwilee@history.ucsb.edu
Lichtenstein,
Nelson
Distinguished Professor
Area: U.S. Labor History, 20th Century U.S., Social Thought
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4256M/W 1:00-3:00 p.m.nelson@history.ucsb.edu
Majewski,
John
Professor
Area: Economic History of the Civil War
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4225majewski@history.ucsb.edu
Marcuse,
Harold
Professor
Area: Modern German History, Public History
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4222Fall 2016: Tue & Wed, 1-2pmmarcuse@history.ucsb.edu
McCray,
W. Patrick
Professor
Area: Modern Technology & Science
Fields of Study:
HSSB 3251Monday, 3-4PM or by appointmentpmccray@history.ucsb.edu
McDonald,
Kate
Assistant Professor
Area: Modern Japan, History of Technology
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4236M, T 4-5pm (Winter 2017)kmcdonald@history.ucsb.edu
McGee,
Sears
Professor
Area: Tudor-Stuart Britain
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4255M, 1:30-3:15 pm and by appointmentjsmcgee@history.ucsb.edu
Méndez Gastelumendi,
Cecilia
Associate Professor
Area: Latin America
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4227Wednesday 1-2 p.m. and 6:30-7:30 pmmendez@history.ucsb.edu
Miescher,
Stephan
Associate Professor
Area: Africa
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4241 Wed.: 1:00-3:00 pm or by appointmentmiescher@history.ucsb.edu
O'Connor,
Alice
Professor
Area: United States Public Policy
Fields of Study:
HSSB 3252W 1:00-3:00 and by appointmentaoconnor@history.ucsb.edu
Perrone,
Giuliana
Assistant Professor
Area: 19th Century U.S. History, Slavery, Law, Civil War & Reconstruction
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4217By Appointment Onlygperrone@history.ucsb.edu
Plane,
Ann Marie
Professor
Area: Colonial U.S., Native American History
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4260No office hours during sabbatical leaveplane@history.ucsb.edu
Rappaport,
Erika
Professor
Area: Modern Britain, Gender History, Comparative Consumer Cultures
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4253Thursdays 12:30-2 or by appointmentrappaport@history.ucsb.edu
Roberts,
Luke
Professor
Area: Japanese History
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4228Away in Japanlukerobt@history.ucsb.edu
Sabra,
Adam
Professor and King Abdul Aziz Ibn Saud Chair in Islamic Studies
Area: Pre-Modern Middle East
Fields of Study:
HSSB 3260asabra@history.ucsb.edu
Seikaly,
Sherene
Associate Professor
Area: Modern Middle East
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4223T, 1-3 PMsseikaly@history.ucsb.edu
Sonnino,
Paul
Professor
Area: Early Modern Europe, Historiography
Fields of Study:
HSSB 3258Mon. & Wed. 12:00-2:00 pm and by appointmentsonnino@history.ucsb.edu
Soto Laveaga,
Gabriela
Associate Professor
Area: Latin America, History of Medicine, Science
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4234On Leave 2016-2017gsotolaveaga@history.ucsb.edu
Spickard,
Paul
Professor
Area: Comparative Race and Ethnicity, US Social and Cultural History, World History
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4259Wed. 10-11:45 and by appointmentspickard@history.ucsb.edu
Talbott,
John
Research Professor
Area: 19th and 20th Century Europe, War and Society
Fields of Study:
HSSB 3259talbott@history.ucsb.edu
Yaqub,
Salim
Professor
Area: History of U.S. Foreign Relations
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4233Wednesday 1:30 pm - 3:30 pmsyaqub@history.ucsb.edu
Zheng,
Xiaowei
Associate Professor
Area: Modern China
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4219Tuesday 3:30-5:30PMzheng@history.ucsb.edu
Bovbjerg,
Christoffer R.
Lecturer
Area: Premodern Japanese History, East Asian History, Violence, Legal History,
HSSB 3238Thursdays 1-3 PM and by appointmentcbovbjerg@history.ucsb.edu
Case,
Sarah
Managing Editor/Lecturer
Area: US Women, US South, Public History
HSSB 3207Winter 2017: Monday and Wednesday 10-11amscase@history.ucsb.edu
Garcia, Ph.D.,
Monica I.
Undergraduate Advisor in History & Lecturer
Fields of Study:
HSSB 4036migarcia@hfa.ucsb.edu
Graves,
Gregory
Lecturer
Area: California History, Environmental History
HSSB 4240, Bren 4007Mondays 9-1030 (HSSB 4240; Fri. 12-2, Bren 4007graves@history.ucsb.edu
Hough,
Kenneth C.
Lecturer
Area: U.S. History, Military History, Film & Media history, History of the Cold War
khough@umail.ucsb.edu
Ji,
Xiao-bin
Lecturer
Area: Pre-Modern Chinese History
xiaobin.ji@gmail.com
Kegerreis,
Christopher
Instructor
Area: Ancient History
HSSB 3238Thursday 9-11ckegerreis@umail.ucsb.edu
Martin,
Jennifer
Lecturer
Area: Environmental History, History of Science, Oceans
HSSB 3239W, 3:30-6 pmjamartin@history.ucsb.edu
Warkentin,
Jackson
Lecturer
Area: Native American history, American Revolution, Atlantic World
HSSB 3236M/W 12;30-1:30 p.m.jackson_warkentin@umail.ucsb.edu