Last Name, First Office Office Hours Email
al-Sabbagh,
Munther
Lecturer
Area: Middle East History
HSSB 3238Mon. 12-1pm, Wed. 11am-12pmmunther@ucsb.edu
Alagona,
Peter S.
Associate Professor
Area: Environmental History, History of Science
Bren Hall, 4316M, 1:00-2:30 PMalagona@history.ucsb.edu
Aronova,
Elena
Assistant Professor
Area: History of Science
HSSB 4215By appointmentearonova@history.ucsb.edu
Barbieri-Low,
Anthony
Professor
Area: Social, Economic, Legal, and Material Culture History of Ancient China
HSSB 4225Fridays, 10am -12 pmbarbieri-low@history.ucsb.edu
Bergstrom,
Randy
Associate Professor
Area: History of U.S. Public Policy, Public History
HSSB 4216Wed 1-3 and by apptbergstro@history.ucsb.edu
Bernstein,
Hilary
Associate Professor
Area: Early Modern France; Renaissance Europe
HSSB 4235M 2-4 and by appt.bernstein@history.ucsb.edu
Blumenthal,
Debra
Associate Professor
Area: Medieval/Early Modern Spain, Premodern Mediterranean, Comparative Slavery, Gender History, History of Medicine
HSSB 3256W 10:30-11:30, or by appointmentblumenthal@history.ucsb.edu
Bouley,
Brad
Assistant Professor
Area: Early Modern Europe, Histories of Science and Religion
HSSB 4237W 10 am - 12:00bouley@history.ucsb.edu
Bovbjerg,
Christoffer R.
Associate
Area: Premodern Japanese History, East Asian History, Violence, Legal History,
HSSB 3239Wednesdays 2-4 PM and by appointmentcbovbjerg@history.ucsb.edu
Brooks,
James F
Professor of History & Anthropology
Area: Borderlands History; Anthropology and History; Gender & Violence, the Professoriate in the 21st Century
HSSB 2082Mondays, 1-3pm; or by appointmentjbrooks@history.ucsb.edu
Case,
Sarah
Continuing lecturer/managing editor
Area: US Women, US South, Public History
HSSB 3207Fall 2018: Wed 12-2pm, and by appointmentscase@history.ucsb.edu
Castillo-Munoz,
Veronica
Associate Professor
Area: Mexican History; The U.S.-Mexico Border; Transnational History; Chicano History; Gender, and Women's History
HSSB 4238Wednesdays 3-5pm or by appointmentcastillomunoz@history.ucsb.edu
Chattopadhyaya,
Utathya
Assistant Professor
Area: Modern South Asia, British Empire, Indian Ocean World, Global History, Commodities, Agrarian History
HSSB 4220By appointmentutathya@history.ucsb.edu
Chavez-Garcia,
Miroslava
Professor
Area: Chicana/o History, Im/Migration, Juvenile Justice, U.S. Women of Color, Borderlands
HSSB 3257Tues, 1-2:30 pm and by appointmentmchavezgarcia@history.ucsb.edu
Chikowero,
Mhoze
Associate Professor
Area: African History
HSSB 4214Wedn. 9:00-11:00amchikowero@history.ucsb.edu
Cobo,
Juan
Assistant Professor
Area: Colonial Latin America
HSSB 4224W, 2 pm - 5 pmjcobo@history.ucsb.edu
Covo,
Manuel
Assistant Professor
Area: 18th century France, Atlantic World, Caribbean, Early America, Revolutions
HSSB 4221On leave, 2018-2019mcovo@history.ucsb.edu
Digeser,
Elizabeth DePalma
Professor
Area: Ancient Rome, Late Antiquity
HSSB 4257TR 11-12 (drop in), or by appointmentedepalma@history.ucsb.edu
Edgar,
Adrienne
Associate Professor
Area: 20th Century Russia, Central Asia
HSSB 4212Wednesdays 10:30-12 or by appointmentedgar@history.ucsb.edu
English,
Edward D.
Executive Director Medieval Studies Program and Adjunct Associate Professor
Area: Medieval History especially Italy
HSSB 5058english@history.ucsb.edu
Farmer,
Sharon
Professor
Area: Medieval: Women, Social, Religious
On leave Fall, 2018farmer@history.ucsb.edu
Frei,
Cheryl Jimenez
Area: Modern Latin America, the Southern Cone, Public History, Art History
cfrei@ucsb.edu
Graves,
Gregory
Continuing Lecturer
Area: California History, Environmental History
HSSB 4240, Bren 4007Mon. 130-3, HSSB 4240; Wed. 11-130, Bren 4007graves@history.ucsb.edu
Guerrini,
Anita
Adjunct Professor
Area: Early Modern Europe, History of Science
anita.guerrini@oregonstate.edu
Hancock,
Mary
Professor
Area: Modern India, Public Memory, Gender, Space and Culture
HSSB 2071Tuesdays, 1-3 PM and by appt.hancock@anth.ucsb.edu
Henderson,
Jarett
Lecturer
Area: History of Gender and Sexualities, History of Colonial British North America, Comparative Histories of Settler Colonialism
HSSB 4218T/R, 2:00 - 3:00pmjhenderson@history.ucsb.edu
Jacobson,
Lisa
Associate Professor
Area: U.S. Social and Cultural History
HSSB 4232W, 1:00-3:00pm, and by appt.jacobson@history.ucsb.edu
Ji,
Xiao-bin
Lecturer
Area: Pre-Modern Chinese History
HSSB 3239Tuesdays 10AM-noon and by appointmentxiaobin.ji@gmail.com
Kalman,
Laura
Distinguished Professor of History
Area: Recent United States History & Legal History
HSSB 4258thursday, 1-3kalman@history.ucsb.edu
Kegerreis,
Christopher
Lecturer
Area: Classical and Hellenistic Greece, Ancient Geography, History of Political Thought
HSSB 3236M 5-6, W 5-6ckegerreis@history.ucsb.edu
Lansing,
Carol
Professor
Area: Medieval Europe
HSSB 4251Fall 2018: MW 11-12 and appts.lansing@history.ucsb.edu
Laurent-Perrault,
Evelyne
Assistant Professor
Area: African Diaspora, Colonial Latin America and the Caribbean
HSSB 4226Wednesdays, 2:00 - 4:00 pm or by appointmentelaurentperrault@history.ucsb.edu
Lee,
John W.I.
Associate Professor
Area: Ancient Greece, Achaemenid Persia,
History of Warfare
HSSB 4210by appointmentjwilee@history.ucsb.edu
Lichtenstein,
Nelson
Distinguished Professor
Area: U.S. Labor History, 20th Century U.S., Social Thought
HSSB 4256W 4:00-5:00 pm; Th 12:30-2:30 pmnelson@history.ucsb.edu
Maar,
Henry
Area: Modern US History: Diplomatic, Social Protest, Nuclear Weapons/Arms Control
hmaar@ucsb.edu
Majewski,
John
Professor
Area: Economic History of the Civil War
HSSB 4225majewski@history.ucsb.edu
Marcuse,
Harold
Professor
Area: Modern German History, Public History
HSSB 4222F'18: Tue 3:30-4:30pm & Wed. 2-3pm (canc. 11/7)marcuse@history.ucsb.edu
McCray,
W. Patrick
Professor
Area: Modern Technology & Science
HSSB 3251pmccray@history.ucsb.edu
McDonald,
Kate
Associate Professor
Area: Modern Japan, History of Technology
HSSB 4236T, 1:00-3:00pmkmcdonald@history.ucsb.edu
McGee,
Sears
Professor
Area: Tudor-Stuart Britain
HSSB 4255Monday, 1-2:45pm jsmcgee@history.ucsb.edu
Méndez Gastelumendi,
Cecilia
Associate Professor and Director of the Program in Latin American and Iberian Studies
Area: Latin America
HSSB 3255Tuesdays 10:30 am - 12:30 pmmendez@history.ucsb.edu
Miescher,
Stephan
Associate Professor
Area: Africa
HSSB 4241Thurs: 1:00-3:00 pm or by appointmentmiescher@history.ucsb.edu
O'Connor,
Alice
Professor and Director, UCSB Blum Center on Global Poverty Alleviation and Sustainable Development
Area: United States Public Policy
HSSB 3252W 1:00-2:30 and by appointmentaoconnor@ucsb.edu
Perrone,
Giuliana
Assistant Professor
Area: 19th Century U.S. History, Slavery, Law, Civil War & Reconstruction
HSSB 4217On Leave 2018-2019gperrone@ucsb.edu
Plane,
Ann Marie
Professor
Area: Colonial U.S., Native American History
HSSB 4260Tues 1-3plane@history.ucsb.edu
Rappaport,
Erika
Professor and Department Chair
Area: Modern Britain and the British Empire, Gender History, History of Capitalism, Urban History
HSSB 4211 Wednesdays 9-11:30rappaport@history.ucsb.edu
Roberts,
Luke
Professor
Area: Japanese History
HSSB 4228T 10-11, Th 2-3lukerobt@history.ucsb.edu
Sabra,
Adam
Professor and King Abdul Aziz Ibn Saud Chair in Islamic Studies
Area: Pre-Modern Middle East
HSSB 3260On leaveasabra@history.ucsb.edu
Seikaly,
Sherene
Associate Professor
Area: Modern Middle East
HSSB 4223On Leave 2018-2019sseikaly@history.ucsb.edu
Smemo,
Kristoffer
Area: 20th Century U.S. History
HSSB 3217ksmemo@umail.ucsb.edu
Sonnino,
Paul
Professor
Area: Early Modern Europe, Historiography
HSSB 3258 e.g., M/W 11:30-1:45sonnino@history.ucsb.edu
Spickard,
Paul
Distinguished Professor
Area: Comparative Race and Ethnicity, US Social and Cultural History (17th-21st centuries), World History, Migrations and Identities
HSSB 4259Wednesday 10-11:45 and by appointmentspickard@history.ucsb.edu
Stephens,
Cody
Adjunct Professor
Area: 20th Century U.S. Intellectual History
HSSB 3236W 9-11cstephens@umail.ucsb.edu
Ware,
Butch
Associate Professor
Area: West Africa, Islamic Knowledge & Spirituality, African Diaspora
HSSB 3259By appointment only until Springbware@history.ucsb.edu
Warkentin,
Jackson
Lecturer
Area: Native American history, American Revolution, Atlantic World
jwarkentin@history.ucsb.edu
Yaqub,
Salim
Professor
Area: History of U.S. Foreign Relations
HSSB 4233Wednesday, 1:30 pm - 3:30 pmsyaqub@history.ucsb.edu
Zheng,
Xiaowei
Associate Professor
Area: Modern China
HSSB 4231On Leave 2018-2019 Contact by Emailzheng@history.ucsb.edu