UCSB Santa Barbara Department of History logo

New Honors and Awards for UCSB History Faculty

Recently, a number of faculty members in the History Department have received awards and honors from various professional organizations and on-campus entities. Join us in congratulating the following faculty members for their well-deserved recognition:

Sarah Cline:

  • Was awarded the Edward Lieuwen Award for Lifetime Achievement in Teaching Latin American Studies by the members of the Rocky Mountain Council for Latin American Studies.
  • Her article “Guadalupe and the Castas: The Power of a Singular Colonial Mexican Painting”, Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos, 31.2 (2015), pp. 218-247 was awarded the best humanities article prize by the Latin American Studies Association’s Mexico Section.

Erika Rappaport

  • Was awarded a Distinguished Teaching Award by UCSB’s Academic Senate.

Salim Yaqub

  • Was also awarded a Distinguished Teaching Award by UCSB’s Academic Senate.

Counting the latter two awards, the History Department now has received a total of five faculty teaching awards in the past three years alone! (The other faculty awardees are Paul Spickard, Peter Alagona, and Toshi Hasegawa.)

Congratulations to the awardees!