UCSB Santa Barbara Department of History logo

UCSB History Ph.D.s win postdoctoral fellowships from the American Council of Learned Societies.

Nicole Archambeau and Ellie Shermer selected from amongst 1200 applicants in national competition.

The UCSB History Department is delighted to announce that two of our recent alumnae– Nicole Archambeau and Ellie Shermer— have won Postdoctoral Fellowships from the American Council of Learned Societies.

The fellowships, funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, are part of the ACLS New Faculty Fellows program. The awards provide two-year positions at universities and colleges across the United States, where Fellows’ particular research and teaching expertise will augment departmental curricular offerings.

Competition for these prestigious fellowships was intense: 1,200 people from the top humanities departments around the country applied for only 50 awards. Nicole and Ellie were the only recipients from UCSB. Congratulations to both!

Update 5/26/10: Ellie Shermer has won this year’s W. Turrentine Jackson Prize, offered by the Pacific Historical Review for the best article submitted by a graduate student. Ellie’s essay, written and revised when she was still at UCSB, is “Counter-Organizing the Sunbelt: Right to Work Campaigns and Anti-Union Conservatism, 1943-1958.” It appeared in February 2009.

hm 1/15/10; jwil 15.i.2010; hm 1/16 photo, hm 5/26/10